I recently became aware of the Butterfly Project.  The Holocaust Museum in Texas is  collecting handcrafted butterflies to make a special exhibit to represent the 1.5 million children killed during the holocaust.  You can read about it at Holocaust Museum Butterfly Project.
I think this would make a great family project.  The kids can have fun creating some beautiful art while learning a bit about history and humanity. (As a parent, you can choose what is age appropriate for them to learn of course.) It breaks my heart to think of all of the people who were killed during the holocaust. But honestly, in my mind, I chose to think of them mostly as adults. It is something so unbelievable, and horrific, I can’t even wrap my mind around the fact that there were that many children killed. I guess that is why they are doing this exhibit.
The thing about learning, and re-learning, about such dark events in our human history is that it reminds us how important it is to be human. It reminds me to take my mind off my own problems, however big or small they are at the time, and focus some of that attention on other people. Funny thing is, when I do that…my problems just don’t seem so big anymore. And with this project, I can enjoy some quality time with my own children.

