The weather keeps teasing us with thoughts of spring.  The prospect of fresh spring air and sunshine is enough to make anyone smile.  (Especially because it helps us to produce some much needed Vitamin D!) I love everything about spring, but my favorite thing is the prospect of fresh veggies for my salads! I pack a fresh salad for my lunch almost every day. There is something about eating a salad that just makes me feel healthier.  Could be all those enzymes those veggies that keep my digestive tract working properly.  But honestly, I am getting tired of the same cardboard tasting vegetables that have been appearing in my grocery store for months.  I am eagerly anticipating the opening of the local farmers market with all that fresh-from the garden taste.  Of course, most of the stuff around here won’t be ready for a while. But it does seem that this time of year, even the grocery store offerings are a bit more palatable and varied.

One thing that will be showing up around here soon is asparagus.  Now there is one vegetable I can get my whole family to eat. It is so delicious, and soooo good for you. (Shhhh, don’t tell my kids!) It is an excellent source of folate, which helps repair your wounded, aging or damaged cells and is great for your heart.  Look it up.

There are many recipes for different things to do with asparagus, and I have tried a few of them. But honestly, our favorite way to enjoy fresh asparagus is lightly steamed with a small amount of butter, salt, lemon herb and even lemon juice.  Of course I snitch more than a few pieces of this delicious vegetable as I am cleaning it and getting it ready to steam.

As far as the salads go, because I have them almost every day, I do try to vary what I have.  It makes it more interesting and fun, and ensure that I get a variety of vitamins.  I get comments all the time about how yummy my salads look, so I thought I would share some of the things that tend to end up in mine — depending on my mood and what I have on hand. Here goes:

spinach & baby greens, sprouts, carrots, mushrooms, bell peppers, avocados, frozen green peas, tomatoes, cucumbers, artichokes, onions, broccoli, cauliflower,nuts, dried fruit,  grains- brown rice, wild rice, quinoa, buckwheat; beans – green, kidney, garbanzo, black.

I would love to hear what your favorite salad items are.

