I am almost ready to put my third licensed teenage driver on the road. My husband and I have spent many hours in the passenger seat, teaching our kids to drive safely and defensively. It amazes me how often we see people who think it is okay to multi-task while driving. We have seen people driving while eating, smoking, texting, even putting on make-up. But most often, we see people with a cell phone up to their ear. We all know that every one of those things is dangerous. If you only have one hand to drive, it is harder to react if and when you need to. Texting while driving takes your eyes off the road to look at your phone. The one that amazes me the most that people are still doing while driving though, is just talking on the phone with their cell phone held up to their ear. I am not advocating that you should pull over to the side of the road to talk on the phone. Some people spend a lot of time in their cars and that is valuable time. If I have a passenger in my car, I can carry on a conversation with them and still drive responsibly. I am also able to listen to the radio, even sing along sometimes, and still drive responsibly. But when I talk on the phone, I always use a bluetooth device to keep my hands free.

When bluetooth devices first came out, they were expensive, bulky & ugly, and they didn’t really work well. I have had conversations with people using a bluetooth where I couldn’t quite make out what they were saying, and where there was an echo to everything I said. Now that is distracting! The quality has greatly improved. The prices have become more reasonable. And they are much more streamlined and attractive now.
The one that I personally use is the Aliph Jawbone II Bluetooth Headset with NoiseAssassin (Black). I love it because it is small and attractive. It comes with additional earbuds and earloops so you can make it really fit your ear well. It is easy to use. And most importantly, it works well. It blocks background noise, and I can hear really well with it.
Even with all the extra earbuds and earloops, my husband was not able to make this one fit him comfortably. His head is slightly larger than mine. So we found the Plantronics Voyager PRO Bluetooth Headset for him. It works great for him. I can hear him perfectly when I call him. And he says it is extremely comfortable. He forgets that he even has it on.
We are all busy people and multi-tasking seems to be the only way to get everything done. But please be safe. Get a bluetooth device that works well for you. Pay attention to the road, and all the other cars. Drive defensively, and arrive there safely.

