Spring weather. Some days it is really nice and warm, and some days it is just a bit chilly. (But no more saying the “S” word in April!) On those cooler days I love the warmth and comfort of soup but don’t really want some of the heavier soups and stews I tend to make in the winter.  I created this recipe by combining and editing 2 or 3 others.  If you skip the sour cream and cheese – which I do – it is totally vegan.  Otherwise, it is still a vegetarian option and no one missed the meat. If you know me at all, you know that measurements are only suggestions.  This never turns out exactly the same, it just depends on my mood and what I have on hand that day. But it is delicious every time.

  • 1 bell pepper, diced
  • 1 onion diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2  tablespoons coconut oil
  • 3 tablespoons cumin
  • bunch cilantro
  • 1 large can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 large can chopped green chili peppers, drained
  • 6 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 large can kidney beans
  • 1 can whole kernel corn
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • dash lime juice

Saute’ bell pepper, onion, and garlic in coconut oil.  Dump everything else into the pot.  Heat thoroughly.  Serve with Hint of Lime Dorito chips, diced avocado, shredded cheese and sour cream.

